h1

HAPPY BIRTHDAY..You have MS

June 3, 2008

Nurses at Mercy.It was a great way to celebrate my 45 birthday, I had been in the hospital for a few days when Dr Mikawa came in and said it was confirmed my MRI’s showed multiple sclerosis.  He went on to say there are some new drugs to treat it but there is NO cure at this time.

When I ask him how much these drugs were (I don’t have insurance) all he would say is VERY expensive-we need to get funding for the treatment.

On my actual birthday one nurse said she thought they had a problem because her chart showed a 44 year old male but the other nurse said her chart showed a 45 year old male. They made arangments to have the kitchen send me a birthday cake.

Dr. Mkawa kept me in there to monitor me and preform some stereoid treatments (while we waied on funding news), but everytime I ask him about this drug treatment all he would say is we need to get funding.

On about the 9th day I was there a case manager, Wanda, with mercy health center (who had been talking to my mom all week) came to my room to tell me that Bayer Corp. had approved me for the Interferon beta-1b( BETASERON®) testing trials. Great News!

They told me that a nurse will come to my house to show me how to asminister the injections and the Betaseron tratments are being over nighted to me. The side effects I was told about seem minimal for what the results will be. Flu like symtems on the day I inject to treatment, short lasting and my Dr. said to get any over the counter flu relief drug that has worked for me in the past.

I was finally released on Friday May 30, 2008.

I have nothing but great things to say about Mercy Hospital, the staff, the nurses and Dr. Kevin Makiwa from the nero science department.

My thanks go out to all of them.

 

2 comments

  1. Rick,
    I’m so sorry to be welcoming you to this little club which nobody wants to join. But welcome to the MS blogger world. There are lots of really nice people in this corner of the blogosphere.

    Congratulations on getting the Betaseron. Without insurance, MS can become very expensive. Even with insurance, MS can become very expensive. I use Copaxone, but I’ve talked to other MSers who say that the interferon injections are much more manageable if they premedicate for those flu-like symptoms.

    So welcome,
    Lisa


  2. Hi Rick,
    I also want to welcome you to this group. I too was diagnosed on my birthday… in my case it was my 20th birthday. This June I celebrated my 20th anniversary with this subtitle. And I must tell you that when I was diagnosed …. I never imagined that I would be doing so well two decades in. It’s been an amazing ride learning just how much I am capable of coping with. It’s an amazing thing having access to so many people with similar experiences. If you haven’t seen patientslikeme.com, check it out. Its not like it was in 1988–so many resources so little time! All the best to you, and if you have a minute, check out my wordpress blog- http://mslol.wordpress.com/about/
    I’ll check back to see how you are doing.
    ~amy



Leave a Reply

